Beanery Online Literary Magazine

February 2, 2012

Toward Harboring at Evening

Filed under: Visitor Writings — beanerywriters @ 12:50 am
Tags: , ,

BEANERY ONLINE LITERARY MAGAZINE

TOWARD HARBORING AT EVENING

Robert A. Woodall

This poem, Toward Harboring at Evening, was published as part of a collection of Robert A. Woodall’s poems,  Let Mind Give Way to Heart. It seems appropriate that it be posted today, since Bob began his sail on “a virgin sea” on January 21, 2012.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Is this the time when I must leave

            sure things that I have known

And sail a virgin sea to where

            the winds of fate have blown

 Me onward to another shore

            with new horizons bold?

Pray not an empty dream, but by

            His light this vision hold!

Oh! Captain of my ship of life

            sail by the eastern star,

That on this dark and storm tossed sea

            I shall not wander far.

Although her helm may twisting test

            my sinews and my mind,

By sextant of a faithful heart,

            I’ll clear safe channel find.

And when by evenings light I sail

            into the golden bay.

With ensign full atop her mast,

            “Come, Harbor Master, say”

That I may lower anchor here

            and sing upon this shore,

In faith to find my moorage paid,

            that I need sail no more.

~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

ADDITIONAL READING:

Poems by Robert A. Woodall posted on the BOLM

THE VIEWING

QUINTESSENCE

LET MIND GIVE WAY TO HEART

1 Comment »

  1. Truly beautiful.

    Comment by jean myers — February 4, 2012 @ 10:40 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

