Beanery Online Literary Magazine

December 8, 2010

Mary’s Special Day

BEANERY ONLINE LITERARY MAGAZINE

MARY’S SPECIAL DAY  

Anonymous  

     We wondered if Mary’s first grade music teacher was tone deaf. Why else would she have chosen Mary to sing a solo in the upcoming Christmas program?

     Needless to say, Mary’s father and I, her mother, were thrilled that she was picked.

     For several weeks Mary would burst into song no matter where we were. To say the least, it was sometimes embarrassing. She seemed to delight in singing while standing in the checkout line at the grocery store, while walking through the mall, and one time she even broke out in song while our pastor was preaching his Sunday sermon.

     I must say that she did seem able to remember her words, and she did actually get better. By the day before the program, she could hit every note.

     We only experienced one problem in regards to the actual performance: I was hospitalized two days before, and it didn’t look like I was going to be able to make the show. Mary was heartbroken, to say the least. However, her grandparents came to her rescue by lending us their video recorder, so we could tape the program. At least I would see her solo on tape.

     The morning of the program arrived. I spoke to Mary on the phone, wished her luck, and told her that I’d see her on tape later that night, when she and her father came to visit me.

     Shortly after I spoke to Mary my doctor came into my room. Upon entering, he noticed my tears and asked me what was wrong. I told him about Erin’s solo in the Christmas program, and he said that he would release me long enough to go to the afternoon show. But I had to be back by dinner time.

     I was speechless. My mother picked me up and took me to the school, where I found an aisle seat near the back. The program started with the kids taking their places on stage. I could tell that Mary was sad by the look on her face. Her solo was about mid-way through the program. Just before she was supposed to sing, I caught her attention with a wave of my hand. Her eyes lit up like a fireworks display on the 4th of July. When it was her turn, she opened her mouth and sang her solo in the sweetest voice I had ever heard her use.

     I still had to go back to the hospital, but I had made it to Mary’s most important of days, a fact which brightened both Mary and my Christmas season.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

TO RECEIVE E-MAIL NOTIFICATION

OF NEW POSTS ON THE BEANERY ONLINE LITERARY MAGAZINE

Subscribe!

(to subscribe see upper right hand post on this site—

Notification will begin after you confirm your subscription

on the e-mail you will receive from wordpress.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~

ADDITIONAL READING:

SANTAS, MRS. SANTAS, ELF and REINDEER WANTED: Application #2

SANTAS, MRS. SANTAS, ELVES & REINDEER WANTED: Please apply—Application #1

Christmas. Whose Season Is It?

Christmas Memories

A BROKEN LEG FOR CHRISTMAS

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

