Beanery Online Literary Magazine

December 1, 2010

Walk Slow and Notice Everything

BEANERY ONLINE LITERARY MAGAZINE

WALK SLOW AND NOTICE EVERYTHING

Kern F. Little

 

Walk Slow and Notice Everything

my father

walked slow

noticed everything

as a youth

I ran fast

missing everything

as a father

I rushed around

going to work

going to school events

visiting friends

just doing what needed done

missing everything

first he took my job away

I never slowed down

he took my wife away

I never slowed down

he took my kids away

I never slowed down

he took my friends away

I never slowed down

then on that day three years ago

he took away my ability to walk

my mind broke

realizing what I had lost

realizing what I had done to my life

realizing I almost lost my faith

realizing I almost lost my life

all I have done since

is to try to get back

what fifty years of rushing around

cost me

now, disabled,

I’m finally learning

to be a father

finally learning

to be a grandfather

I walk very slow

I notice everything

what do I tell

the little ones?

just calm down

just slow down

take my hand

and walk slow with me

~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

ADDITIONAL READING:

WATCHING CORN GROW

IT’S A WONDERFUL LIFE!!

How to Give Support to Caregivers

Youghiogheny River AKAs

THE YOUGHIOGHENY RIVER CRAWL

Mika’s Escapades

BRAMBLES (Brief RAMBLES) 1-4 JUNE 1, 2008

~~~~~~~~~~~~

TO RECEIVE E-MAIL NOTIFICATION

OF NEW POSTS ON THE BEANERY ONLINE LITERARY MAGAZINE

Subscribe!

(to subscribe see upper right hand post on this site—

Notification will begin after you confirm your subscription

on the e-mail you will receive from wordpress.com

1 Comment »

  1. Loooove this… easy to relate to and very touching…

    Comment by adnelg — December 5, 2010 @ 2:23 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

