Beanery Online Literary Magazine

October 27, 2010

It’s a Pumpkin’s Life

BEANERY ONLINE LITERARY MAGAZINE

IT’S A PUMPKIN’S LIFE

 Fran Welts

The Beanery Writers Group in Latrobe, Pennsylvania, sends its members and submitters a writing prompt each Monday. The following post is a result of the October 4, 2010, prompt:

Pretend that you are a jack-o-lantern. Describe Halloween from a jack-o-lantern’s point of view.

If you would like to receive the weekly prompt, e-mail beanerywriters at yahoo.com with the words WRITING PROMPT REQUEST in the subject line.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

     Morning. Such a wonderful, colorful, crisp fall morning. It’s peaceful here, just me and five acres of my friends.

      We all look forward to this time of year, arguing over who is the best, who is the ripest, who will get picked first. You see, it really does matter that we ALL get picked for that crazy day the two legged creatures celebrate with us every year by dressing up. At least, they call it that! 

     How can anyone who puts blood and goop all over themselves be considered dressed up????
     From where I am in the field I can see a sign on the road. I have no idea what it says, but whenever it’s out it means that the short creatures will soon be running through this field and grabbing us up. Unfortunately, they aren’t always careful, and some of us wind up smashed all over the ground. What a sad, sad time for some. 

     For those of us chosen it’s a marvelous time. We get to leave this field, the dirt, the cold, and go with the creatures to the places they stay.
     Oh look! Here they come! Big yellow things full of them, yelling and making noise. Big happy looks on their tops!! Running at full speed, yelling “I want this one, no I want that one!.” Oh here comes a sweet looking one. It picked me up, carefully, I might add! Here I go. Oh look, there goes another of my buds! 

     What a day this is.
     I certainly hope this little creature won’t let me fall. This yellow thing is bouncing me all over the place! My insides are churning into something that I don’t think I want to see! At last, we are inside one those creature’s places. Not bad, certainly warm and toasty feeling. 
     What are they doing? Some kind of markings all over my beautiful skin!! 
     Ouch!! Man, that hurts!! What is that silver thing they are poking me with? Whoa!!!! What are they doing with my insides—Hey!  I need that stuff!! Don’t they know I need that stuff to keep myself together??? These creatures are toooooooooooo much! Ouch! Hey stupid, that hurts!! 
     Okay, the poking has stopped. Where am I being carried to? Oh great, now I’m back outside, on some cold, very, very cold, piece of land in front of their place. What is going on now? What in the world is that stick thing with the bright light on top that is being put INSIDE me??? I don’t know what it is, but it’s certainly keeping me warm.
    Ahh, now I can see. All those crazy dressed up creatures keep coming up and taking something from the little creature who chose me. Coming and going, and pointing at me—I can’t imagine why. I know I am good looking! What a long day this has been. I wonder how the rest of the guys are doing wherever they are.
     The little creature just lifted my top (when did that happen???) and blew into my insides. That bright top on the stick went dark. Now it’s cold again, and I’m here on this cold place. It’s not so bad you know, not really. It’s been a long, strange, sometimes painful day, but mostly just different. Certainly different from being in a field with all my friends!!
     I wonder what they will find to do to me tomorrow??

~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

TO RECEIVE E-MAIL NOTIFICATION

OF NEW POSTS ON THE BEANERY ONLINE LITERARY MAGAZINE

Subscribe!

(to subscribe see upper right hand post on this site—

Notification will begin after you confirm your subscription

on the e-mail you will receive from wordpress.com )

~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

ADDITIONAL READING:

A Jack-O-Lantern Interview

The Chicken Soup Myth

Ghosts Unseen

The Legacy of Hopedale, Massachusetts

Aboard the Boston Transit System

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

