Beanery Online Literary Magazine

April 10, 2009

Feasting At a Welcome-All Table

Filed under: Visitor Writings — beanerywriters @ 1:05 am

BEANERY ONLINE LITERARY MAGAZINE

FEASTING AT A WELCOME-ALL TABLE

Della Spearman

 

Della Spearman is a second year Divinity student at Mercer University McAfee School of Theology in Atlanta.

 

What is better than silver and gold?

A new house, car, or fancy restaurant…

Maybe a priceless delicacy or some fast food?

Not precious diamonds or oyster’s pearls.

 

What are you about to lose in order to gain?

For such an Easter spring season, no refrain?

 

Not food, raiment nor any tangible thing,

Maybe, making a festive vow for forty days?

I’m staying quiet; positive with little gossip –

Allowing more seriousness for less pain.

 

The sting of poverty, sickness, and injustice

Is too overwhelming and a bit much for me.

It takes daily support from a higher power

To make crooked things straight, you see.

 

I vow not to have a negative attitude,

And to take life as it comes but differently,

With a new outlook and focused pen image

Hoping for a better world to come is my mission.

 

Forty days and forty nights is no lifelong guarantee,

Change takes time but brings joy; peace of mind,

To a transformation of our fragile, mortal hearts –

Maturity and steps in the right direction, I march.

 

I vow to live a life of a different sort,

Helping to lead change a little or more,

Looking at Ash Wednesday and my week,

Maundy Thursday, Good Friday – I weep.

 

Giving Up Much to Gain More for Lent

The sacrifice of love for you and ‘ole me,

Causes me to fast and now focus upward

With a new routine and more appreciation.

 

I give up life’s suspicion

And look for truthful reality,

Fighting is not in my world

I now see resistance as a cure.

 

I fast on gripping darkness

Looking for some sunshine

I fast from slow anger and rot

And desire a patience crop.

 

I toss worry and mortal concern

For God is Sovereign, Almighty,

My Providence; a Unifying Force

A healer, not an Earth Polluter.

 

These vows I hope to continue

Past the Lenten short season

Let’s choose life over hate,

No gossip, equipped with a goal.

 

I embrace a new daily service project

Knowing I  will have a fruitful season,

Lent will not be in words, but in deed

Helping those who are less fortunate

Know they are welcome; God is present.

 

They can feast at the Banquet Table

The door is open, the love immeasurable…

 

ADDITIONAL READING:

DEVOTIONS:

ARE YOU LIVING IMPAIRED?

BUSY—I’M SO BUSY!!! Lent Devotion #28

Who will take our church from us? Lent Devotion #30

Ashes to Ashes: A Devotion for Ash Wednesday

The Red Tuque

And who will reach the downtrodden? Lent Devotion #18

Belonging to Jesus: Lent Devotion #7

OTHER BIBLICAL WRITINGS:

SHALOM! MY LORD AND MY GOD! The Easter Story as told by Mary

God’s Message to the World

Jesus

A PASTOR’S ROLE IN DOMESTIC VIOLENCE Part 2

Basic Biblical Teachings for the Godly and Moral Life: 1

Basic Biblical Teachings for the Godly and Moral Life: 2

CHILD ABUSE AND SCRIPTURE

ABRAHAM, SARAH, HAGAR and sons ISHMAEL and ISAAC

WHAT? MARRY A PROSTITUTE, HOSEA ASKED GOD

DRESSING FOR BLESSING: GOD AND FASHION Part 1

FAITH THROWN OVERBOARD

I BELIEVE GOD INVENTED DANCING

Everyday angels

SITE LINKS:

www.beanerywriters.wordpress.com/

www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com

www.barbarapurbaugh.com

www.pennwriters.com

ellenspain.com

http://ligonierliving.blogspot.com/

http://www.methodists-care.org/

 

 

 

 

1 Comment »

  1. […] Feasting At a Welcome-All Table […]

    Pingback by Spring Resurrection. Easter Resurrection. | CAROLYN'S COMPOSITIONS — April 20, 2014 @ 3:01 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

