Beanery Online Literary Magazine

March 6, 2009

Path to Peace

BEANERY ONLINE LITERARY MAGAZINE

PATH TO PEACE  Path to Peace

Pat

     Let me live to raise my five children, I pleaded with God. Let me find peace, I prayed. Only twenty-nine, I was shocked to find that Hodgkin’s disease had invaded my body. I felt I was too young to die. I thought no one could raise my children as well as I. “At least let me live until my eldest could help the little ones and my youngest could remember to brush his teeth,” I prayed.
     Little things surfaced, hit me in the face. I took delight in the rising sun, the distinctive smell of rain, the beauty and aroma of rose petals, the smell of fresh cut grass, the fortitude of old maples, the magnificent blending of pinks and violets in the sunset over Lake Erie, and my children’s smiles bright and wide. All these things became very special, as though I viewed them for the first time. I was very aware that it might be my last.
     In the late fall, I sat under my yellow maple, buttery yellow leaves scattering all about me. I felt sure that all was right with the world that God was in charge. Your will not mine be done, I thought.
     Later at night when I tucked myself into bed beside my husband, I drifted into a blissful sleep. About three o’clock in the morning, I felt an indescribable peace envelop my body. It caught me totally, permeated my whole being. I moaned. My husband gently tapped me, “Pat, wake up.”
     “No,” I said pushing him away. I didn’t want to lose the moment.
     Something heavenly had touched me in the twinkling of an eye. It was then that I knew I would be all right, that with the help of God, my surgeons, the marvels of modern medicine, and a change in my attitude I would see my children grow.
     Even today, I find it hard to put into words the peace I felt that morning. There are no earthly words to describe it. That sense of peace settled my soul.

ADDITIONAL READING:

AN OAK TREE MARKS THE PLACE

SNOW GLOBE

IN WINTERSCAPE…COMES THE SONG

STOKING THE COALS

WHAT RIGHTS DO CATS HAVE, I ASK

FERAL BIRDS: THE LATEST COMMUNITY HAZARD

MIDDLE AGE KNIGHT vs. MODERN DAY SOLDIER

A Singapore Pine Tree & Kampong Buangkok, Singapore

TRASH OR TREASURE: COMMUNITY TRASH PICKUP DAY

Online Sites for Caretakers & Families of Brain Injury Victims

March days to celebrate

Compagnie du Scioto Meeting at Cafe le Procope (Novel #3B)

LAUREL HIGHLANDS

CHILD ABUSE DEFINITIONS

TYPES OF ABUSE

CHILD ABUSE AND SCRIPTURE

SITE LINKS:

www.beanerywriters.wordpress.com/

www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com

www.beanerywriters.wordpress.com/

www.barbarapurbaugh.com

www.pennwriters.com

ellenspain.com

http://www.methodists-care.org/

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

