Beanery Online Literary Magazine

January 22, 2009

ALWAYS IN THREES

BEANERY ONLINE LITERARY MAGAZINE 

ALWAYS IN THREES

Pat

             In life things break down when we least expect it, be it appliances, health, marriages, or relationships. I was reminded of this when I purchased a new windshield wiper. I thought of how things break down in threes: broken windshield wiper, broken dryer, and really banged up knees. When my washing machine refused to work, my kitchen faucet broke and my hot water heater wouldn’t start!
     Always in threes. These little annoyances made me chuckle, because they made me slow down my pace. When my washer broke, I was forced to dump all the clothes of my five children and husband into the back of my car. I was broken then, too, just barely recovering from Hodgkin’s disease. To my amazement, religious brochures were strewn all over the windowsills in the laundromat. With nothing to do in between loads, I read voraciously, taking in new thoughts on religion and trust. I learned to turn my life over to God, learned to surrender. I needed to rearrange my days giving praise to God and nature. In time, I delighted in listening to the birds early in the morning. I studied the beauty of a rose in detail observing the precious soft velvet folds enveloped in a flower. I relished my blue morning glories cascading up my wooden fence. I found time to sit beneath my favorite yellow maple tree in the fall with the glorious leaves floating about me in a pile the color of butter. When things broke, I took a backseat and drifted into nature. I rearranged my days, since there was not much I could do until my husband fixed the offending appliance or faucet. I suppose I went on strike before it became fashionable, except for doing laundry. My children had to have clean clothes. Dishes piled up in the sink until the faucet was fixed. I used paper plates.
            The one thing my husband tackled immediately was the toilet when it became clogged with one of those primary-colored plastic blocks with a hole in the middle. My youngest child had thrown it into the toilet. It got stuck, really stuck. With tool in hand, my husband unscrewed the base of the toilet after turning off the water source. He wielded the white porcelain high into the air as though he was going to toss it through the window. Over the bathtub, he shook and shook the blasted thing until the toy came loose and popped out!
            Now when things break, I give myself a break. I relax, breathe, take in nature, go internally and find myself and thank heaven that disasters only come in threes.

ADDITIONAL READING:

OF CURRENT INTEREST:

CALL FOR SUBMISSIONS & WRITER’S EVENTS: January 9, 2009

FERAL BIRDS: THE LATEST COMMUNITY HAZARD

THE LIGONIER 250TH ANNIVERSARY BOOKLET

JANUARY DAYS OF CELEBRATION: Part 1

JANUARY DAYS OF CELEBRATION: Part 2

MOST ACTIVE POSTS BW:

ALL SUMMER IN A DAY: The Use of Descriptive Language

BEANERY ONLINE LITERARY MAGAZINE

PROTECTING PRIVACY OF PERSONAL DATA ON YOUR COMPUTER

HOW TO MARKET YOUR BOOK ONLINE 

TOP POSTS BW:

OF FIREFLIES AND LIGHTNING BUGS

BEAR CONFRONTATIONS: SAFETY PRECAUTIONS

DEVELOPING CHARACTERS IN NOVEL WRITING

INTEGRITY: A JOURNALISTIC CODE OF ETHICS REVIEW

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

