Beanery Online Literary Magazine

January 17, 2009

JOAN’S VICTORY RIDE

Filed under: WR/BW KATHLEEN — beanerywriters @ 4:50 am

BEANERY ONLINE LITERARY MAGAZINE

JOAN’S VICTORY RIDE

KATHLEEN

 

my mission, nearer, clearer, the older I become
the country of France. . .united as one
Riding, riding
riding, riding
day and night across this scarred land,
riding, riding, hard against the wind
banner flying free.
My army beside me, we attack the enemy,
sword to sword, in the name of the Lord.
Scaling the fortress wall, the arrow hits its mark,
and lodges between shoulder and heart.
Forcefully, through gritted teeth, I command
“Break it off! Break it off!”
I wrest it out, my hand trembling
with a mighty tug it loosens,
water and blood flowing,
staining armour, staining this war-torn land.
Dazed, faint upon the ground,
bright light pierces the sky;
heavenly voices. . .heavenly vision
returned to comfort, returned to guide.
Strengthened, encouraged, I arise
my beloved banner held high!
“For God and France! The battle is ours!”
Blood-spattered, weary, faithful
my army rallies ‘round with shouts of victory.
Riding, riding
riding, riding
hard against time, hard against the wind,
fulfilling my mission to crown the Dauphin king.
Riding, riding
riding, riding
fast and free
open fields, like open arms
embrace me.

ADDITIONAL READING:

THE LIGONIER 250TH ANNIVERSARY BOOKLET

CALL FOR SUBMISSIONS & WRITER’S EVENTS: January 9, 2009

WORDS OF THE YEAR 2008 Part I: VOCABULARY TEST

WORDS OF THE YEAR 2008 Part II: VOCABULARY DEFINITIONS

PARIS CAFE’s

MOONSTONE RHYMES

KILLED STRANGELY: A NEW ENGLAND MURDER STORY

RAINBOW’S END Part 1

I HAVE A PERMIT TO CARRY…

KEEPING PEACE IN SOUTH AFRICA Part 1

IT’S NOT THAT SMALL A WORLD

KILLED STRANGELY: A NEW ENGLAND MURDER STORY

MUSTANG SALLY’S GUIDE TO WORLD BICYCLE TOURING

DOES EXAGGERATING THE TRUTH CREATE GOOD STORIES?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

