Beanery Online Literary Magazine

November 19, 2008

SHORT TRIP FROM SEATTLE, WASHINGTON To Ligonier, PA

BEANERY ONLINE LITERARY MAGAZINE
SHORT TRIP FROM SEATTLE, WASHINGTON
To Ligonier, Pennsylvania
JOAN W.

     Recently, I flew to Seattle to visit my sister in a retirement home.
     They have a guest room but it can be rented for four days only. I stayed there for that time and enjoyed the many elderly people I met. While there, I was asked to give a fifteen minute talk about India since I had just come from there. With the many questions asked, it lasted an hour. My sister is in the “Health” part as she has Parkinson’s disease. She is mentally very alert and enjoyed my little talk also.
     On my last day, it was hard to leave. The secretary called a taxi for me to take to the airport; a courtesy I appreciated. The plane was there when I arrived so there was very little waiting. After boarding and being seated, a young gentleman, sitting in my row, asked where I was going. I answered in a rather off-handed manner that it was a small place he probably never heard of.
     “OK Try me!”
     “Ligonier.”
     “You’re kidding” he said.
     “No.”
     This gentleman owns a restaurant and an Inn there. He also owns a small airplane. I used to fly a small plane. We had a great time exchanging “hanger” stories. A lady in-between us offered a few words occasionally, as I believe she had had some flying experiences.
     We arrived in Detroit and had a short time to catch our commuter plane to Ligonier. The Detroit airport is HUGE with a very long tunnel to go through to reach the other gates. As I said that I am a rather slow walker, he found a child’s wheelchair, suggested I fasten my seatbelt, and then he ran me through that long tunnel to the proper gate. WHEEEEEEEEEE! What fun! When we arrived, we were told we had an hour to wait. There was a lounge near the gate, so we went in for a drink. As we sat telling “hanger” stories, our plane came in and left. My friend went to see why we had not heard anything and was told, “Oh that plane left!”
     “IT WHAT?”
     He called his wife and asked her to go to the LaTrobe airport and tell my two friends waiting there that we missed our plane, and we would not be flying in there. She was not to drive to Pittsburgh to pick us up. It was late. It was about 1:00 a.m. when I arrived home. My friend had waited up for me with a sign on the front door saying “Welcome Home”. 
     What an Adventure!

ADDITIONAL READING:

“DATING WHEN FIFTY-SOME:” A Guy’s Version

QUINTESSENCE

KEEPING PEACE IN SOUTH AFRICA Part 2

I HAVE A PERMIT TO CARRY…

www.peacepuzzle.blogspot.com

PROTECTING PRIVACY OF PERSONAL DATA ON YOUR COMPUTER

TRASH OR TREASURE: COMMUNITY TRASH PICKUP DAY

FROM THE BASTILLE TO CINDERELLA

VOICES OF WILDERNESS: PEACE MEETING

COLORING OUR CHILDREN

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

