Beanery Online Literary Magazine

September 13, 2008

PLEASE GIVE THAT MAN A QUARTER!

BEANERY ONLINE LITERARY MAGAZINE
PLEASE GIVE THAT MAN A QUARTER!
Peggy Jo
On my morning walk around town this morning I came upon a man with a fishing tag on his cap. Fishing season just started. When I wished him “A happy day of fishing,” instead of his saying “Thank you,” I had to listen to his tirade of having to pay a parking fine.
Now, I have had to pay parking fines in this town, too, so I wasn’t too empathetic to his raging. My reasons being that if you need change any merchant in town will graciously give it to you, and the coffee house I had just left, that is open early, will give you a quarter if you are desperate.
Laziness will get you a fine. I know this lesson first hand.
Listening to his story, I learned something about the man that really made me dislike him altogether as a human being. He thought he was entitled to not pay his fine because of his previous job status. He thought he was privileged. He was a man with the means to pay the fine with no hardship to his bottom line, but he was just too lazy and most likely inhibited in some manner to walk another block to get change.
I was tempted to give him a quarter, but I refrained for two reasons. First, he didn’t need one anymore because he was leaving. And secondly, he wasn’t privileged to receive a gracious gift.

ADDITIONAL READING:

ANOTHER HORRIFYING HEADLINE

Pennsylvania Wedding, Lamoine Roots

PROCOPE CAFÉ, PARIS: Part 1—Finding photographs: An International Adventure

PROCOPE CAFÉ, PARIS Part 2

SHOULD INFORMATION ON AN ALLEGED CHILD ABUSER BE PUBLICIZED?

KEEPING PEACE IN SOUTH AFRICA Part 2

PROCOPE CAFÉ, PARIS: Part 1—Finding photographs: An International Adventure

MUSTANG SALLY’S GUIDE TO WORLD BICYCLE TOURING

www.beanerywriters.wordpress.com/

BEAR STORIES ACROSS THE NATION

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

