Beanery Online Literary Magazine

September 1, 2008

ELATION, DESPAIR AND A SUGAR RUSH

BEANERY ONLINE LITERARY MAGAZINE
ELATION, DESPAIR AND A SUGAR RUSH
CAROLYN

Since this is a WRITING site, I hope that Beanery Members and visitors will join me in submitting comments on writing. We welcome posts on interesting facets of all genres of writing. Email submissions to beaneryblog@yahoo.com with the word “SUBMISSIONS” in the subject line.

A newspaper article on an author last-named Buckley, first name in lost part of the article, writes of novel authorship: …in a novel, you get to make up a world and then live in it for nine months…I’ve just finished my 12th book, and there’s a period of elation at the beginning just because someone is willing to pay you to do this. Then you get to the middle and there’s a period of Emersonian despair when you’re rewriting a chapter for the 17th time. And then you get a second sugar rush when the day comes when you actually type “The End.” I’ve had that experience 12 times, and I remember each one.

I’m beginning a historical novel, which has had several starting dates interrupted by necessary research. Unfortunately, there is no one willing to pay me to do this. My monetary kudos came from journalism until the newspaper shut down the local section I wrote for.

While writing the novel, I will query magazines with numerous subjects I’ve researched for the newspaper. Currently I have one assignment due Feb. 10.

I’m immersed in the 1790s world, but have the privilege of creating the characters and their interactions, and in many areas, the weaving together of their stories. So unlike Buckley, I’m not making up the world. The romances will be created, however, as will most conversations. Other conversations will emerge from documents in my files.

The characters have become a social circle for me, friends I’m getting to know and introduce to others as I write. I expect they will be as real to me as current day friends while I write about their real and enhanced lives.

I have had some interesting experiences in preparing to write the story, most recent of which were climbing Schoodic Mountain and visiting The Ovens, both in Maine.

It’s different from journalism, and I expect that the rewriting frustrations will be greater.

We would like to hear what our visitors are writing and what writing means to them. Comment in the box below or send us a submission about your experiences.

ADDITIONAL READING:

ON THE EVE OF 27

LABOR AND LABOR DAY

BORING FOOD Lent Devotion #37

DAVID Part 1 of a 10 Part Romance Story

LIZZIE BORDEN—A REENACTMENT

MOOSE, GOOSE, DEER

WISDOM FROM A CHILD TO A GRANDPARENT

TIMES CHANGE: FROM A KITCHEN TO AN OFFICE GRANDMOTHER

CHURCH SUED FOR FUNERAL DEMONSTRATIONS

I HAVE A PERMIT TO CARRY…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

