Beanery Online Literary Magazine

July 24, 2008

DAVID Part 9 of a 10 Part Romance Story

This is Part 9 of a ten-part romance story, David. Each Wednesday evening a part of the story is being posted.  Writer Jane is a long-distance member of the Beanery Writers Group, participating via the Beanery Online Literary Magazine. To read the previously posted parts of this story click on: DAVID Part 1 of a 10 Part Romance Story & DAVID Part 2 of a 10 Part Romance Story& DAVID Part 3 of a 10 Part Romance Story & DAVID Part 4 of a 10 Part Romance Story & DAVID Part 5 of a 10 Part Romance Story & DAVID Part 6 of a 10 Part Romance Story & DAVID Part 7 of a 10 Part Romance Story & DAVID Part 8 of a 10 Part Romance Story

The weeks flew by into summer. I worked and came home to messages from the wedding planners, and they demanded immediate attention. Usually one day on the weekend David and I would meet with them to make choices and give our approval or disapproval for one thing or another. It actually ended up being fun. We would make a day trip out of it and after the meeting spend the rest of the day exploring things in the area—the wineries, more galleries, or just the natural beauty nearby. Often in the evening I was his “arm candy” for functions with his partners in business. Their world was so different, but not unlearnable. Eventually, with David’s help and lessons, I learned to fit in with no fear.

David never relented on his campaign to have me quit my job. He even suggested that he buy my house and give it to me as an engagement gift. I always refused. Until we were married I would make it on my own. We always ended up these conversations with his jaw set in anger.

One time, months previous, David had asked me what kind of wedding I had dreamed of as a girl. I could only remember one time daydreaming of anything close to a wedding. I was around six years old, and sitting on the porch with my mother. She had asked me what kind of wedding gown I wanted when I grew up. I didn’t know what kind of gown, but I knew I wanted a red cape to wear over it.

There was a day at work that summer when a huge box was delivered to me. Of course all the girls crowded around, as did my bosses. I opened it and inside was a red velvet cape, lined with mink. He remembered everything, and at that point I began to believe that the perfection of this whole affair meant more to him than I could imagine. Of course, all these things demanded a small fortune, but it was a fortune granting every wish, and it was from his heart.

Fall was coming, and I had an appointment and plane tickets to fly to Paris for my final gown fitting at the beginning of December. There was a small orchestra with bagpipers included hired to play the wedding march. We (I) had chosen “Highland Cathedral” for that. A horse drawn sleigh had been hired to bring me to the hall before the wedding. The hall would be decorated with thousands of candles wrapped in holly and ivy. David would have a cape of his family tartan on the left side of his tuxedo. After the ceremony, I would have a matching cape on my left shoulder.

The invitations were sent out to over three hundred people. Food was tested and chosen for the reception, as well as the appropriate wine for each course. Photographers were interviewed and their portfolio’s gone through. I felt as though I had a hundred servants, all scurrying about for our delight.

September 11th occurred then, and my mind was taken up endlessly with the unbearable horror of it all. David would wrap his arms around me, signing that I was safe right there, in his arms. Sometimes he just held me while I shook. I could see the anger on his face for what had happened. All that mattered to me was the feeling of his arms wrapped around me, and more often than not I fell asleep. It was the only peaceful sleep I had for a time after those events. He began showing up early in the morning and driving me to work, and then picking me up afterwards. He was flustered, and he signed to me “I want you to feel safe, and I don’t know what to do.”

November was approaching. There was still so much to do. We had to choose china and silver and crystal for the reception—everything down to the fabric of the napkins. We still had to choose our first dance. I had to shop for my “going away” outfit.
I asked David one evening if I could take him out to dinner the next night. I had a surprise for him. He beamed!

“Where is the future Queen taking me?” he signed.

“To the place of our meeting.” I answered.

If there has ever been a bigger and more genuine smile I have never seen it. The next day at work I had a hard time concentrating, but I had things to do there. I was bursting because I had such a big surprise. At the end of the day I told my friends what the surprise was. Some laughed, some cried, and I received so many heartfelt hugs I can almost feel them to this day.

David picked me up at work. I was smiling, almost breaking out into giggles on the way home.

“I’ll be ready to go in about an hour” I told him.

He was going to just sit and watch TV while I got ready. I showered and took extra care on my hair and make up. Once I was dressed, I went downstairs. I guess my excitement was contagious. David was beaming and couldn’t wait to go. He grabbed my hand and we almost ran to his vehicle. He kept signing on the way there “What’s the surprise.” I would say “I can’t give it to you yet.”

“Give it to me? I don’t see you carrying anything?” He was getting confused and I was enjoying every moment of it.

We arrived early at the restaurant, but it didn’t matter. It was “ours.” David’s usual table was waiting for us, and the vase of holly and ivy that I had ordered was sitting in the center of it. After we were seated he signed “This is beautiful. It means the world to me.” He thought that the dinner and the beautiful bouquet were the surprise! Even better!!
I signaled for the wine steward, and he arrived with the iced Champaign I had ordered ahead of time. As he uncorked it, David looked at me questioningly. Oh, how I was bursting inside!!

After David approved it the steward quietly left and David grabbed my arm. He quickly signed: “What is the celebration? Why the Champaign?”

His face looked puzzled. I looked at him. God, I love him. More than my heart can contain.

“I gave my two weeks notice at work today. My final two weeks I will use up vacation and sick time.”

He stood up quickly and his chair fell backwards. The next thing I knew, he was in front of me, down on his good knee with tears streaming down his face.

“You have given me the one thing I could not buy. Time with you. There is no man on earth that could be more blessed with this gift,” he signed, and I cried along with him.

Click back next Wednesday night to read the conclusion of David.

ADDITIONAL READING:

KILLED STRANGELY: A NEW ENGLAND MURDER STORY

THE ICE CREAM MAN

LOGGING IN MAINE AND ON THE PERU-BRAZILLIAN BORDER

A PASTOR’S ROLE IN DOMESTIC VIOLENCE Part 2

CHILD ABUSE AND SCRIPTURE

FROM THE BASTILLE TO CINDERELLA

OF FIREFLIES AND LIGHTNING BUGS

KEEPING PEACE IN SOUTH AFRICA Part 1

LET MIND GIVE WAY TO HEART

BRAMBLES (Brief RAMBLES) 1-5 June 15, 2008

BEAR CONFRONTATIONS: SAFETY PRECAUTIONS

BEAR STORIES ACROSS THE NATION

WATCHING CORN GROW

HAIR UNAWARE

THE KILLER KITTEN

REACH OUT

SHALIMAR

AND NOW, THE FORECAST

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

