Beanery Online Literary Magazine

July 19, 2008

THE KING AND THE ANGEL

—written by Joe F. Stierheim

“I must say, you certainly did give me a start.”

“Yes, Sire, I understand and I apologize. And, please, you must not blame your people. They are diligent in guarding you and after all … well, I am an angel. That position carries with it certain privileges – and abilities.”

“I suppose that’s true. One has to use whatever abilities one has when the situation calls for it. Be that as it may, I really am glad you’ve come to see me.”

“I must also apologize for the late hour. It’s rather a tradition, you know, that visits such as this are conducted at such times.”

“Oh, please don’t apologize. I understand. I’m pleased to see you at any hour. It’s quite gratifying, really – and flattering – that you feel you should visit me.”

“It’s part of my, I suppose I should say our, responsibility, Sire, to keep in touch with important and influential people on the earth plane. It helps in understanding trends and all that.”

“I should think you’d be very aware of what’s happening. After all, isn’t that part of omnipotence? I mean, aren’t you in the loop so to speak?”

“Oh, of course. But there are some things about which there is only limited knowledge. Free will, you know.”

“Ah, yes. Well, how can I help you?”

“We’ve been watching events here for some time. Of course, I’m sure you know that.
You’ve often said how aware you are of the, what shall we call it, the Heavenly Plane.”

“In my own small way, I have tried always to maintain close ties with the Omnipotence of the universe.”

“Yes. So we have heard you say. But there is one small matter on which we would like clarification.”

“I’ll certainly be happy to provide any information you need.”

“Well, there’s one matter that puzzles us.”

“And that is …?”

“You’ve chosen war, Sire.”

“So …?”

“Well, after all, you say you want peace. That does seem rather contradictory.”

“I’m surprised you ask such a question. Of course, I – we, the nation – want peace. We’ve always wanted peace – throughout our history.”

“So you’ve said. But, then, why the war?”

“Well, there has to be war in order to bring peace. That’s obvious. I mean, when there are people who do not want peace then there can be no peace until those people are eliminated. Hence, the war.”

“Hmmm. I see. Interesting. You want peace and you think war is the best way to achieve it.”

“Exactly! It’s in your interest, too, of course. Eternal peace is the desire of all. Especially on your plane. I am, in my own humble way, attempting to bring all this to pass for the benefit of all. That’s why the war is necessary. It’s justified by the same Omnipotence which it serves.”

“Excuse me, but we would prefer to be left out of such logic.”

“What? How can you say that?  Say, just who are you? Come to think of it, you’ve shown me no documentation.”

“I can assure you, my ‘documentation’ is impeccable, but you know that, I’m sure. You’re inner self tells you that this is so, Sire.”

“Well …. yes, I suppose that’s right. But some of your attitudes are confusing to me.”

“Let’s pursue the subject a little more. Perhaps in the process we’ll find clarification for both of us.”

“Very well. What’s unclear to you?”

“Aside from the concept of war for the sake of peace, there are a few details that are bothersome. Why did you start the war when and where you did? Do you think that was entirely justified?”

“Of course. It was potential, you understand. There was a potential for the disruption of the peace of the world and that threat had to be eliminated.”

“By war?”

“Yes, there’s no other way.”

“I see. And you think you’ve accomplished that?”

“Not entirely. We’re making great progress, but there’s a great deal more to be done. We just have to stick with it.”

“And how long do you envision that will take?”

“Well, I just don’t know. It will happen though. It’s inevitable.”

“And then eventually you will destroy all those who do not want peace?”

“Yes. There’s another advantage that we haven’t talked about. In starting the war as we did we have kept all the fighting – the unpleasantries, you know – away from us. It’s better that such things are kept over there.”

“Oh, but, Sire, you can’t guarantee that.”

“Not entirely, of course. There’s always a chance that some evil people will penetrate our diligence. We have to expect that. But it will be minor, I’m sure.”

“I don’t think you entirely understand, Sire. I appreciate your desire to keep ‘unpleasantries’ at a distance, but I don’t think you comprehend that by initiating them you have set in motion a process that cannot be controlled.”

“Well, no one said it was ever going to be easy. I remind people of that almost every day. But, after all, our cause is just. With the help of Omnipotence it will be as we ask.”

“But, Sire, that is one thing you cannot ask.”

“Pardon me?”

“When you choose war that is all you do. You cannot specify any of the details – where it is fought, how it is fought, etc. Once you choose it, war simply is.”

“Well, for heaven’s sake! That’s what we’re relying on you people for! After all, that’s why this whole thing is being done – for Heaven’s sake.”

“As I said before, we’d prefer to be left out of that argument.”

“You mean to tell me you’re not going to support us?”
“Well, we really don’t play favorites.”

“Don’t play favorites? Wait a minute. I’m getting a little uneasy here. Are you sure you’re from – up there? You sound somewhat diabolical to me.”

“Now, Sire, we’ve gone through that before.”

“Yeah? Well, not to my satisfaction. Don’t play favorites? How do I know you’re not some sort of spy? For all I know you could go straight from here to Them. You could spill all our secrets – compromise our national security.”

“I’m pledged not to do that.”

“Pledged, hell! I know how much pledges are worth. No. I’ve had it with this. If you’re not with us you’re against us. Say, you’re not from upstairs; you’re some sort of devil, aren’t you? I want you out of here! If you don’t leave right now by whatever way you got here, I’ll call my people. They can turn you over to some others who know how to deal with you, devil or not. They’ll make you confess everything.”

“Now, there’s no need of that, Sire. I assure you, I’ll leave peacefully.”

“You’re damn right you will.”

“Well, good day to you, Sire. And I must thank you. Our time together has been most enlightening. I think I’ve learned everything I need to know.”

NOTE:  Joe has created an interactive blog on peace issues. Visit his site at   www.peacepuzzle.blogspot.com

For additional reading:

VOICES OF WILDERNESS: PEACE MEETING

CHILD ABUSE AND SCRIPTURE

KEEPING PEACE IN SOUTH AFRICA Part 1

KEEPING PEACE IN SOUTH AFRICA Part 2

CHILDREN LEFT HOME ALONE (or in cars alone)

ANOTHER HORRIFYING HEADLINE

KILLED STRANGELY: A NEW ENGLAND MURDER STORY

A FATHER-DAUGHTER REUNION

I BELONG TO MY FAMILY

SEVENTY YEARS OF LOVE

CHILDISH IMMATURITY

LOGGING IN MAINE AND ON THE PERU-BRAZILLIAN BORDER

BLACK FLIES AND OTHER INSECTS: Then and Now

OF FIREFLIES AND LIGHTNING BUGS

THE ICE CREAM MAN

BEAR STORIES ACROSS THE NATION

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

