Beanery Online Literary Magazine

July 17, 2008

DAVID Part 8 of a 10 Part Romance Story

This is Part 8 of a ten-part romance story, David. Each Wednesday evening a part of the story is being posted.  Writer Jane is a long-distance member of the Beanery Writers Group, participating via the Beanery Online Literary Magazine. To read the previously posted parts of this story click on:  DAVID Part 1 of a 10 Part Romance Story & DAVID Part 2 of a 10 Part Romance Story& DAVID Part 3 of a 10 Part Romance Story & DAVID Part 4 of a 10 Part Romance Story & DAVID Part 5 of a 10 Part Romance Story & DAVID Part 6 of a 10 Part Romance Story & DAVID Part 7 of a 10 Part Romance Story

The next few weeks flew by. After work I had decisions to make each day.

One evening, we went back to dinner at the same place that we had had our first lunch. David said he had something he wanted to show me. After dinner we went outdoors and walked past that building and two others. They were so beautiful. They were hotels, each appointed with spas, meeting halls, banquet halls, restaurants and each a different rich and luxurious theme.

“These are mine…these are ours.” he signed to me. I only smiled. I was used to the surprises now.

We walked into the third building, and then into a room of gold. “This is where I’d like to marry you.”

We sat down on a beautiful antique settee in the corner and he took out the pad. “I will have the wedding planners work with us,” he wrote.

That was no problem for me. I would never be able to plan things properly for this hall.

We walked outside again, and he asked me if I had picked a gown yet. I told him I had a St. Pucchini.

“You will have to go to Paris to have it made right.” he signed.

I didn’t disagree. This is the gown: http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v642/JanieCallanan/Janie/StPucchiniweddinggown.jpg

I had already decided to carry holly and ivy for my bouquet, and in my hair. And I wanted my train longer. If I were going to be a princess, no princess would out do me in train length!

As we walked, we ended up having our first fight.

“I want you to quit your job.” he signed. A blunt statement.

I told him no, I would not be a kept woman.

Again he signed: “I want you to quit your job. I want you to have the time to spend with me.”

Again, I told him no. I was getting angrier. “Is that all the respect you have for me?” I nearly shouted. He only looked hurt.

In the end, this would turn out to be the worst mistake I have ever made.

Click back next Wednesday night when Part 9 of David will be posted.

To continue reading David click on DAVID Part 9 of a 10 Part Romance Story

For additional reading:

SHOULD I REVEAL OR BURY THE FAMILY SECRET?

BLACK FLIES AND OTHER INSECTS: Then and Now

OF FIREFLIES AND LIGHTNING BUGS

KEEPING PEACE IN SOUTH AFRICA Part 1

THE BATTLE FOR PEACE

LOGGING IN MAINE AND ON THE PERU-BRAZILLIAN BORDER

BEAR STORIES ACROSS THE NATION

KILLED STRANGELY: A NEW ENGLAND MURDER STORY

WATCHING CORN GROW

HAIR UNAWARE

THE KILLER KITTEN

REACH OUT

SHALIMAR

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

