Beanery Online Literary Magazine

July 10, 2008

DAVID Part 7 of a 10 Part Romance Story

Part 7 of a ten-part story, David, by long-distance Beanery Writers Group member Jane. Continuing segments will be posted in the Beanery Online Literary Magazine consecutive Wednesdays.
To read previous parts, in the Beanery Online Literary Magazine, click on  DAVID Part 1 of a 10 Part Romance Story & DAVID Part 2 of a 10 Part Romance Story & DAVID Part 3 of a 10 Part Romance Story & DAVID Part 4 of a 10 Part Romance Story & DAVID Part 5 of a 10 Part Romance Story & DAVID Part 6 of a 10 Part Romance Story

My eyes flew open, and there were tears in David’s eyes. I asked him what was wrong and he put his hand across his mouth. He had wanted to speak that! He didn’t know that what came through his hands carried more feeling than any voice could have.

“I’ll be your wife” I answered him. He jumped up from his chair and pulled a box from his pocket. It contained a ring like none I had ever seen, or dreamed of before. It outshone the stars topside. It was gold, with a two-carat diamond in the center, flanked by two one-carat diamonds on each side. He was smiling when he put it on me.

“We have a lot to talk about, but first I have to eat!” he signed, and he sat down and wolfed down his food.

I tried to eat, but the flashing on my finger kept distracting me. Yes, I did love this man, and would not let social status deter me any more than I would have had he been poor.
After he finished he poured some more wine in our glasses. He signed: “Can we start talking about this wedding now?”

I answered him “You’re the groom, whatever you want.” And I laughed and got up to kiss him.

By the time I sat down again he had the paper out and was writing furiously.

“You always wanted a Christmas wedding, December 21st is an important date for me. It is Saturday this year. Is that date OK with you?” he wrote.

I nodded yes, overwhelmed with his interest in a wedding. I never met a man before who really cared.

He wrote again: “I know this is for you and I have only three jobs, shoes shined, tuxedo on and show up, but I have a request. I want you to be the first down the aisle. I could not stand to wait for all those attendants to get done with their slow walk.”

My head was spinning. Although all this was exciting and happy, I wanted to savor the moments and I asked him to slow down. He laughed his silent laugh, and we went topside to sit under the star strewn sky.

We sat silently for a while until he began to sign again “One more thing, when you find your gown will you let me know?”

I giggled, and it turned into a full laugh, which had tears streaming. He smiled too and then stood up and did an overly exaggerated strut back and forth on the deck.

Continue to part 8 by clicking on DAVID Part 8 of a 10 Part Romance Story

For additional reading:

THE BATTLE FOR PEACE

THE BATTLE FOR PEACE

BLACK FLIES AND OTHER INSECTS: Then and Now

LOGGING IN MAINE AND ON THE PERU-BRAZILLIAN BORDER

OF FIREFLIES AND LIGHTNING BUGS

BEAR STORIES ACROSS THE NATION

KILLED STRANGELY: A NEW ENGLAND MURDER STORY

WATCHING CORN GROW

HAIR UNAWARE

THE KILLER KITTEN

REACH OUT

SHALIMAR

AND NOW, THE FORECAST

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

