Beanery Online Literary Magazine

June 12, 2008

DAVID Part 3 of a 10 Part Romance Story

Part 3 of a ten-part story, David, by long-distance member Jane. Continuing segments will be posted in the Beanery Online Literary Magazine consecutive Wednesdays. To read previous parts click on  DAVID Part 1 of a 10 Part Romance Story & DAVID Part 2 of a 10 Part Romance Story

We ate lunch with intermittent conversation, he writing, me speaking. At one point he raised his hand and used what I guessed was sign language.

“Well, missy smarty pants,” I thought. “How do you handle this one? ”

“I don’t know sign language.” I apologized.

He gently reached across the table and took my hands. There it was! The proverbial bolts of lightning that tingled up my arms and made my ears buzz. I felt my face go flush. He went on as if nothing had happened, but I could see some color creeping up his neck as well.
 
With my hands in his he formed them into the language that he had just used with me, until I could sign it on my own. I had never realized that a language could be so graceful. So much more beautiful than a voice, and I didn’t even know what it was I was signing!

He wrote: “That means ‘Will you see me again?'”

I shook my head yes. Again he took my hand and taught me the letters Y-E-S.
The waiter appeared again and David signed something. He rose from his chair and came behind mine to help me up, and then on with my coat. I must have had a pout face on because he wrote: “Alright, alright, you owe me $5.00.” and then “Where is your car? I will walk you to it.”

We walked slowly, enjoying the cold air blowing and the sunshine and shadows. My nose was getting chilly, and I knew the cold weather would be here to stay soon. When we reached my car I said: “Will you call me?”

Oh Janie, if you could go back in time and erase one moment, it would be this one. How could I have made such a thoughtless remark?

He wrote on his pad “I was a Navy Seal. I will find you.” Then to let me know everything was OK, he opened my car door and kissed my forehead.

I had a hard time concentrating on my driving on the way home. This was all a dream wasn’t it? Eventually I got my mind set on the tasks I had to do at home, and slowly, oh so slowly, my life went back to what it was before. It was not a dream, but just a pleasant interlude.

That evening I went to bed, muscles hurting, hands with cuts and scratches burning from getting some of the storm windows put up. The phone rang. I picked up the bedside phone and there was music playing on it. It took me a moment to understand.

It was Enya, singing ” I Will Find You.” 

A song which less than a year later would mean something so very different.   To continue reading David click on DAVID Part 4 of a 10 Part Romance Story

For additional reading click on:

AN ADOPTION EXPERIENCE

RIVER (Specifically, the Youghiogheny River)

LOBSTER-TALES

!¡Anger¡!

FROM THE BASTILLE TO CINDERELLA

HAIR UNAWARE

LET MIND GIVE WAY TO HEART

BEAR CONFRONTATIONS: SAFETY PRECAUTIONS

GRANDKITTY

HALFWAY THROUGH TOMORROW

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

