Beanery Online Literary Magazine

June 5, 2008

DAVID Part 2 of a 10 Part Romance Story

Part 2 of a ten-part story, David, by long-distance member Jane. Continuing segments will be posted in the Beanery Online Literary Magazine consecutive Wednesdays.
To read Part 1 click on DAVID Part 1 of a 10 Part Romance Story .

We walked through other galleries together. David was limping, obviously favoring his right leg. I was curious as a cat as to what happened to him, but he offered no explanation and I was too polite to ask. That politeness was difficult. I was biting my tongue. And darn it, I was becoming more interested in the stroke of his pen than the brush strokes on the painting. He seemed to be very interested in what I thought of the paintings, and I was having a hard time focusing on them. This funny, tall man was more interesting than something less living.

He asked me to lunch, and I agreed but made it clear I would buy my own. And he laughed at me! With no sound, this man was laughing at me! He took my arm and led me down the street. I was shocked when he grabbed onto my hand and pulled me into one of the most elegant restaurants I had ever seen. It was softly glowing with candlelight at noon. Immediately we were seated, as if expected. David brushed the host aside and pulled out my chair for me. He sat across from me and I knew he was enjoying the flustered state I was in. I was wondering if I had enough money to cover even a grilled cheese sandwich in this place, in this palace.

A wine steward came over and quickly David approved the choice. I wondered when they would be bringing the menus, thinking about my embarrassment if I couldn’t afford the food. Dreading that moment. I just knew it was coming. I was wringing the napkin on my lap, but tried to look composed as I carefully sipped my wine. I looked across at him, and his eye was sparkling and he was smiling.

“What are you laughing at with that eye of yours?” I asked him, and he burst out into silent laughter again.

Raising his hand slightly a waiter appeared out of nowhere. David handed him the pad, and the waiter nodded and left. He wrote again, and handed me the pad. “I have taken the liberty of ordering for you.”

He was almost bursting with a smile now. I thought he would laugh at me again. Instead he wrote: “You handle unknown situations with so much grace.”
I looked up at him and instead of mirth saw a look of pure admiration. Suddenly I saw beyond the scarred human to David, and I liked what I saw.

Continue on to Part 3 of David: DAVID Part 3 of a 10 Part Romance Story

For additional reading click on:
SEVENTY YEARS OF LOVE

PEOPLE: TIZIANIA BARONIO

THE HOLOCAUST STORY OF A TEENAGE VICTIM (Part 6)

YARD SALES UNSETTLE ME

PERTAINING TO THE SPIRIT

JOURNALIST ETHICS CONCERNING THE RECEIPT OF GIFTS

FERAL BIRDS: THE LATEST COMMUNITY HAZARD

BEAR CONFRONTATIONS: SAFETY PRECAUTIONS

WATCHING CORN GROW

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

