Beanery Online Literary Magazine

April 6, 2008

THE WELL-ADJUSTED CHILD

Filed under: Visitor Writings — beanerywriters @ 1:32 am
Tags: , , ,

April is National Child Abuse Prevention Month. The poem/song below was written by Linda, who experienced soul-deep abuse from her parents during her childhood. It is posted with her permission. —Carolyn

(Chorus)
I’m a well-adjusted child,
But things weren’t always this good.
When Mommy would beat me,
And Daddy would abuse me,
I loved them the best that I could.

(Verse 1)
Now I know that there’s others just like me,
Who think that no one is there.
I want to help,
Please, God help me help them,
Simply because I care.

(Verse 2)
Now I know how it hurts deep inside,
And the pain is too hard to bear.
As I fall to my knees,
Dear God, hear my pleas,
Let’s let them know that we care.

(Verse 3)
If you see a child who is hurting,
Don’t turn you heart away.
Give him your love,
And ask God above,
To save him before it’s too late.

Revisit the Beanery Online Literary Magazine, www.beanerywriters.wordpress.com , Monday evening to read Beyond the Rock, a Beanery Writers Group member’s response to Linda’s post.

To read other items on child/family abuse, click on: CHILDREN LEFT HOME ALONE (or in cars alone) and  A PIECE OF ME and DUST MOTE and

I’ve been an abuse counselor since about 1984. In the early 1990s I wrote, received, and administered an abuse prevention program under a Pennsylvania Children’s Trust Fund. The premise of the grant was to prevent child abuse by healing of adults who were abused as children, and to teach them healthy coping and parenting methods, and thus to break the chain of abuse in their children. Carolyn

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

