Beanery Online Literary Magazine

November 17, 2007

LOIS’ BIO

Filed under: BIOS BW members — beanerywriters @ 2:37 am
I graduated from Duquesne University with a degree in journalism. After graduation I moved to Philadelphia, where I wrote

features for the Philadelphia Daily News. It was a wonderful experience because the Daily News features editors encouraged

creativity in both story ideas and writing style. I wrote articles about recreational activities available in the

Philadelphia area. But I also tried to find stories dealing with Philadelphia’s ethnic neighborhoods because I knew they

would attract a large readership. (Also, they were fun!)
My most memorable story was a two-part series about the Class of 1960 at South Philadelphia High School. I interviewed former

students on the eve of their 25th class reunion. Some had appeared on American Bandstand. Also, Chubby Checker was in the

class! He gave a colorful interview about his high school days. I have pictures of him from the high school yearbook. On one

he is sitting at a desk wearing a checkered sportcoat.
After working for the Daily News I moved to New England, where I produced publications for foodservice distribution companies

and worked in the library field. I recently moved back to southwestern Pennsylvania, my native home, and after a year of job searching I landed a job in the admissions office of University of Pittsburgh, Greensburg.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

