Beanery Online Literary Magazine

April 17, 2009

A Cry For Goodness

BEANERY ONLINE LITERARY MAGAZINE

A CRY FOR GOODNESS

Jane Lipsius Driver

 

 

If I could bend to Love,
Though now uncertain of my fate,
Eternally cursing my freedom,
Would you afterward not veil me in dishonor?

To stand in the brightness
And give evidence of your loving
This veil keeps beyond my reach
A reverence bestowed upon another.

My soul stands longing
To merge with the one whose shadow,
The one whose every breath,
Keeps me entombed in disgrace.

I do not desire that I should continue
So hungry to be fed, by your grace;
Accepting another’s cast off rinds
Given from your first fruits.

Say I again and again:
If I could bend to Love,
Eternally cursing my freedom,
Would you afterward not veil me in dishonor?

 

ADDITIONAL READING:

SADIE

SHE’S A CANDLE

THE SWEETNESS LASTS A LIFETIME!!! An Adoption Reunion Story

PHOTODOCTOR: WHO IS THE PERSON BEHIND THE NAME?

“DATING WHEN FIFTY-SOME:” A Guy’s Version

WHAT ARE THOSE NUMBERS IN MY CAMERA VIEWFINDER?

WHAT DO YOU SEE THROUGH YOUR CAMERA LENS?

PROTECTING PRIVACY OF PERSONAL DATA ON YOUR COMPUTER

HOW TO MARKET YOUR BOOK ONLINE 

GEORGE D. SHUMAN: Author of “18 SECONDS” & “LAST BREATH” Part 1

MAGIC SHADOW-SHOW

CANDIED VIOLETS: Remembering My Mother on Her Birthday

LAUREL HIGHLANDS

PINCH HITTING

DAVID Part 1 of a 10 Part Romance Story

SITE LINKS:

www.beanerywriters.wordpress.com/

www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com

www.barbarapurbaugh.com

www.pennwriters.com

ellenspain.com

http://ligonierliving.blogspot.com/

http://www.methodists-care.org/

1 Comment »

  1. I have read this over and over again and each time I am left with mixed emotions. Often I sense sadness that the speaker has to negotiate with another for love and honor. To bend to love and curse one’s freedom, at what point does a soul come to when they must feel this way? It almost sounds like this person has been beaten down…expecting less than they are worth.

    And then the darkness, to stand not in the light waiting on another. Where is hope here? Where is the way out? Is it not our right to expect and enjoy happiness and to stand on our own spiritual two feet?

    Goodness is all around, one needs not cry out for it but to look for it first from within and look for the light that flickers there and let it rage. Love one’s self. The light will cast away the darkness.

    There is always a gentle soul watching over you. Whisper to them…perhaps even a keeper…

    Comment by Doc — April 26, 2009 @ 1:49 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

